Model assessment · HYPER

HYPER HyperDrive GN22B USB-C HDMI Hub review

An earlier compatible-MacBook adapter with one HDMI output, two USB-A accessory sockets and USB-C pass-through charging; numeric display mode and net watts unspecified.

Sources checked 2026-10-20 · Our editorial approach

Earlier model: use this assessment to identify an existing product or check a specific offer. Match the exact suffix, instructions and seller terms.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

HyperDrive GN22B-GRAYIllustrated overview
A useful fit for

The original Intel MacBook scope with a deliberately short accessory list.

The main tradeoff

No spare USB-C data, cards or Ethernet; exact display/USB rates and charging watts need additional edition-specific evidence.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Can the documented original Intel MacBook arrangement use one HDMI screen and two USB-A accessories while charging?

Yes, with a suitable native-video host and separate PD source; exact display mode and charging watts remain unspecified.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can I require a verified 4K60 HDMI mode?

No. The reviewed original announcement says 4K but does not establish that refresh arrangement.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is one outward USB-C data socket established?

No. That USB-C socket is described for pass-through charging.

Explore this need in the finder →

HYPER HyperDrive GN22B: an earlier HDMI-and-USB adapter with a short connection list

The GN22B makes sense for a compatible original MacBook setup that needs one HDMI display, two legacy USB accessories and a charging cable. Its small port list is the point: there are no card readers or network socket to plan around, and its outward USB-C connection is described for pass-through charging. It is a focused earlier adapter. Choose by those actual functions, and confirm the display mode and charging power separately when either is a strict requirement.

Match the HDMI model, rather than another HyperDrive

This assessment covers the gray GN22B-GRAY lead, cross-referenced by its exact B&H model record to the HyperDrive USB Type-C Hub with 4K HDMI Support. HYPER's original November 2016 announcement describes that same layout: one flexible USB-C host lead, two USB 3.0 accessory sockets, HDMI and a USB-C PD connection. The manufacturer also identifies four color finishes. Color names are not used here to import specifications from a different HyperDrive model.

In particular, do not confuse this HDMI adapter with the earlier five-in-one card-reader bar. The two products allocate their connections differently. The reviewed original announcement names the 2016 MacBook Pro and the 12-inch MacBook. That provides an Intel-Mac reference, rather than confirmation for every future Mac chip, iPad or Windows computer with a USB-C-shaped socket. An existing unit should match the exact model and connector layout before these limitations are applied.

One HDMI output, with incomplete numeric mode detail

The manufacturer says the HDMI output supports video up to 4K. The original announcement reviewed here does not state the complete resolution-and-refresh table. That omission matters if a particular monitor mode is essential. Our arrangement can establish one HDMI screen in the original compatible-host scope, but it does not qualify a selected 4K30, 4K60 or other numeric mode from this evidence alone. A separate exact-edition specification would be needed to fill that gap.

This is also one external output. It does not establish two independent desktops through the hub. A native-video-capable host connection is required: a USB-C data connection alone does not create HDMI video. The reviewed announcement does not identify a numeric DisplayPort version or a software requirement, so those technical details remain unspecified. A managed-computer requirement for confirmed operation without additional software therefore needs more evidence than the word “hub.”

Allocate both USB-A connections before choosing it

The two USB 3.0 sockets are the places for legacy USB accessories. A receiver and a drive form one possible two-device list; separate wired keyboard and mouse connections would already occupy both. Write down that list before choosing this small layout. A third accessory would require another computer connection or a different hub allocation. The maker's short original announcement does not provide a combined current budget for demanding bus-powered peripherals.

The USB version is documented, but an explicit numerical per-port line rate is not supplied in that original announcement. We leave the numeric rate unspecified in the matching data rather than repeat a retailer's performance figure as a newly verified maker claim. No transfer benchmark was performed for this assessment. The outward USB-C connection is described for charging; a spare USB-C data output is not established by the connector's shape.

Pass-through charging needs a separate source

HYPER expressly describes charging the MacBook while the hub is in use. Connect a compatible separate charging cable and PD source to the outward USB-C socket. The hub is not itself a wall power supply. The original announcement does not establish a supplied charger, a PD input ceiling or net watts available to the laptop. Basic charging support can therefore qualify, while a minimum 65W or 85W requirement cannot.

The flexible host lead gives the body more positioning freedom than a rigid adapter attached directly to a laptop's side. Its precise cable length and replacement arrangement are not specified in the reviewed primary text. Choose the GN22B for an existing compatible Intel-Mac workflow when that limited HDMI, two-USB-A and charging allocation is enough. Choose a more fully documented model when exact refresh rate, USB-C data, several high-power peripherals or a particular charging wattage determines whether the desk will work.

Key details at a glance

USB-A downstream data ports2
USB-C downstream data ports0
HDMI outputs1
Full-size DisplayPort outputs0
USB-C video outputs0
Full-size SD slots0
microSD slots0
Advertised Ethernet link ceiling0Gbps
Host requirementsOriginal 2016 MacBook Pro/12-inch MacBook USB-C arrangement with flexible host lead; no later-chip promise.
Screen arrangementOne HDMI output advertised up to 4K in original announcement; exact pixels/refresh not stated there, so no numeric display-mode requirement qualifies.
Power and chargingUSB-C PD pass-through charges compatible MacBook while hub is used. Input maximum, net host watts and suitable wall-charger inclusion are unspecified.
Data and device limitsTwo legacy USB3.0 accessory sockets; explicit numeric rate and total peripheral current budget absent in reviewed primary announcement. USB-C socket is documented for PD, not spare data. Complete layout has no cards or Ethernet.

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Find a hub or dock for your desk.

Match the computer, screens, devices and charging routine, then check the exact supported arrangement.