Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Can a listed USB-C iPad use one 4K30 HDMI screen and a USB-A device?
Qualifies for the documented single-HDMI arrangement.
Explore this need in the finder →Can it read a full-size SD card directly?
Fails: the exact HD319E port map has no SD or microSD reader.
Explore this need in the finder →Can I charge the iPad and retain a USB-C data socket?
Fails: those roles occupy the same physical USB-C socket in alternative arrangements.
Explore this need in the finder →A compact choice for a specific tablet setup
The HyperDrive HD319E is useful when a compatible USB-C iPad needs a small selection of wired connections: HDMI, one USB-A peripheral, USB-C data or charging, and 3.5mm audio. Its four-port arrangement is deliberately modest. The main buying boundary is the shared USB-C socket, which can take a data accessory or the charging cable, and the absence of memory-card readers.
The official page reviewed here identifies HD319E-SILVER. The retained research lead names HD319E-GRAY through a retailer. This is a hardware-family reference based on the identified HD319E manufacturer specification, rather than verification of a particular gray unit or current offer. Check the exact finish and package separately when buying.
Check the exact iPad generation
Targus lists USB-C iPad Pro 11-inch and 12.9-inch in the specified third, fourth and fifth generations, iPad Air fourth and fifth generations and iPad mini sixth generation. It specifically describes iPadOS compatibility and connecting iPad peripherals. That supports a more precise buying decision than assuming every Apple tablet with a similar name works identically.
The hub's compact shape sits close to the tablet connection. A protective case and the space around the USB-C socket can affect the physical arrangement, so consider those before expecting a neatly fitted setup. The source does not establish a generic clamp, a laptop mount or a universal fit for every USB-C device.
One direct HDMI output
The HDMI output is specified at up to 4K and 30Hz, with a direct HDMI connection required. This is one display output, and it is a lower refresh ceiling than 4K60 designs. A basic presentation or media connection may fit that ceiling; a requirement for 4K60 does not. The screen, cable and tablet's supported output behavior must also suit the task.
The HDMI specification is separate from the USB data specification. A USB-C connector does not imply that every computer can supply native display video, and this source does not state an exact DisplayPort revision for the host. Likewise, adding an HDMI socket does not establish two independent external desktops. The 3.5mm socket provides the separate wired audio connection listed in the port map.
The shared socket changes what can connect together
The USB-A port has an advertised 5Gbps USB3.1 Gen 1 capability. The downstream USB-C socket is also listed at 5Gbps and supports 60W PD pass-through. In its data role, it can provide the second data connection alongside USB-A. In its charging role, it is occupied by the charger cable, leaving the USB-A data socket available.
That means a setup requiring charging and a free USB-C data output at the same time does not match this hub. A larger port count elsewhere in a comparison should not obscure that one physical socket has two alternative jobs here. The 60W designation also does not establish a separate numeric maximum delivered to the iPad after hub consumption.
What it leaves out
The official interface table explicitly lists no SD reader, microSD reader, Ethernet or Mini DisplayPort. A photographer who needs to ingest cards without another reader should choose a hub that includes those slots. A desk requiring wired networking needs an actual Ethernet interface rather than relying on the HDMI or USB-C labels.
The body measures 82.3 ×25.9 ×9.7mm and weighs 40g. Choose HD319E when that small four-function arrangement answers the tablet's needs. Choose a card-equipped hub for direct media import, or one with separate USB-C data and charging sockets if those two plugs must remain connected together. Those concrete differences are more useful than assuming all small iPad hubs are interchangeable.
The named iPad generations also help distinguish physical fit from a general USB-C promise. Check the device edge and its protective case before relying on a close-fitting adapter. The direct HDMI requirement concerns the display cable as well: an HDMI socket is not evidence that every chain of video converters will reproduce the documented mode.
Key details at a glance
| USB-A downstream data ports | 1 |
|---|---|
| USB-C downstream data ports | 1 |
| HDMI outputs | 1 |
| Mini DisplayPort outputs | 0 |
| Full-size SD slots | 0 |
| microSD slots | 0 |
| Advertised Ethernet link ceiling | 0Gbps |
| Maximum PD input | 60W |
| Stated product weight | 40g |
| Screen arrangement | One HDMI output up to 4K30; direct HDMI connection required. The host DP revision is unspecified. |
| Power and charging | The shared USB-C socket supports 5Gbps data or 60W PD input. Net host wattage is not stated. |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
Find a hub or dock for your desk.
Match the computer, screens, devices and charging routine, then check the exact supported arrangement.