Model assessment · TP-Link

TP-Link UC430 USB-C Portable Hub review

A compact USB-C host hub with three USB-A data ports and a separate charging-only USB-C socket, with laptop charging supported but no wattage stated.

Sources checked 2026-10-20 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

UC430Illustrated overview
A useful fit for

A USB-C computer that needs three conventional data connections and a documented charging path without a screen or network dock.

The main tradeoff

The fourth socket is not a USB-C data output. The manufacturer does not state a numerical laptop-power limit in this reference.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Can I use three USB-A devices while the laptop charges?

The original datasheet expressly describes that routine. Use a compatible separate charging source; its maximum wattage reaching the laptop is not specified here.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is the fourth socket available for a USB-C drive?

No. TP-Link labels it charging-only, so this product does not provide a downstreamUSB-C data socket.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is 65 W of available laptop power guaranteed?

No. Laptop charging is described, but the sources do not provide a numerical host-output ceiling. An essential 65 W requirement is not confirmed.

Explore this need in the finder →

A small hub with three data ports and a charging path

The TP-Link UC430 is a compactUSB-C hub for a computer that mainly needs conventionalUSB-A accessories. Its layout combines threeUSB 3.0 data ports with a separateUSB-C charging-only socket. Choose it when a keyboard, mouse, flash drive or similar devices are the main task and you also want a documented way to charge the laptop through the arrangement. The important limit is that the maker does not provide a numerical laptop-power rating in the source reviewed here.

The fourth socket has a different job

TheUC430's four-port headline does not mean four data connections. TP-Link explicitly labels threeUSB-A sockets for data transfer and theUSB-C socket for charging only. AUSB-C drive cannot simply use that fourth socket as another peripheral output. That distinction is especially important if you are replacing missingUSB-C ports rather than adding olderUSB-A devices.

TheUSB-C lead connected to the computer is also separate from those downstream sockets. It is the host connection, not an extra peripheral port. The attached cable is 13.3 cm, or the maker's listed 5.2 inches, so the hub sits fairly close to the laptop. Make sure that reach works with the port position and the surface where the hub will rest rather than expecting a detachable long cable.

Laptop charging is real, but its wattage is not specified

Both the original datasheet and currentUS product page explicitly describe charging the laptop while transferring data and connecting peripherals. That is stronger evidence than merely seeing a charging symbol in a photo. It establishes the intended laptop-charging function, while leaving the numerical power ceiling unresolved. The charging socket should still not be counted asUSB-C data.

The package lists the hub and user guide, not a laptop charger. You need a compatible separate charging source and the right cable for the actual equipment. If your buying decision requires a particular available wattage, such as 65 W, this reference does not confirm that number. Do not substitute an unrelated charger's headline rating for the amount a hub can deliver to a computer.

Data expansion rather than a display dock

The three downstream sockets use theUSB 3.0 data class. That connection is shared back to the host; it does not create three independent maximum-speed links into the computer. A keyboard and mouse place different demands on that path than several active drives. Neither theUSB 3.0 name nor a charging connection constitutes a measured copying-speed result.

The complete connector table contains noHDMI, DisplayPort, Ethernet or card readers. It is therefore a focused data-and-power adapter rather than a substitute for a multi-screen workstation dock. If a monitor or wired network is essential, choose a product that documents those functions on the same supported host arrangement. Buying an extra video cable does not create native video output on this hub.

Compatibility needs the actual computer context

TP-Link namesWindows, macOS, ChromeOS, Linux andAndroid, withAndroid 6.0 specified on theUS table. It also describesUSBOn-The-Go use with compatible phones. That is useful scope, but it is not independent verification of every laterApple Silicon model or an unlistedUSB-C iPad. A connector that physically fits does not establish every software or device function.

The manufacturer presents the data-hub operation as plug-and-play. Connected accessories can still have their own requirements. Check a storage device, specialist audio interface or managed computer separately rather than assuming the hub removes those conditions. The transparent buying question is whether the specific data devices and charging arrangement you need are actually supported together.

When it is a good match

TheUC430 suits a relatively simpleUSB-C laptop setup needing threeUSB-A data devices and a charging path, with no essential numerical wattage requirement. It is not the right choice for aUSB-C peripheral output, a monitor, wiredEthernet or card imports. If you need those additional functions, compare an adapter with an explicit port map and host-power figure. TheUC430's value is its small, focused layout rather than an inflated count of interchangeable sockets.

Key details at a glance

USB-A downstream data ports3
USB-C downstream data ports0
HDMI outputs0
Full-size DisplayPort outputs0
USB-C video outputs0
Full-size SD slots0
microSD slots0
Advertised Ethernet link ceiling0Gbps
Power adapter includedNo
Detachable host cableNo
Included host-cable length5.2 in
Host requirementsIntegrated USB-C data host lead; maker names Windows, macOS, ChromeOS, Linux and Android, without a later Apple-chip matrix.
Screen arrangementComplete port map is data and charging only; no native display outputs.
Power and chargingThe original datasheet and US page explicitly describe charging the laptop while data transfers. Charging-only USB-C socket has no numerical input/output rating in these sources; charger is not in the package.
Data and device limitsThree USB-A ports are USB 3.0-class data connections. The separate USB-C charging socket is not a fourth data port.
InstallationPortable external hub with an attached 13.3 cm lead; no model-shaped laptop mounting.

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Find a hub or dock for your desk.

Match the computer, screens, devices and charging routine, then check the exact supported arrangement.